Why I Still Love Vancouver

Anyone who knows me knows the deep love I have for my city. I live, explore, worship, shop and enjoy here with a passionate approach. Recent events have not changed that. If anything, the last week has strengthened my appreciation for living in this beautiful, friendly, world class city.

I’ve witnessed my neighbours come together, celebrate victory and mourn defeat. I loved the way almost everyone in the city altered their schedules to cheer on our fabulous Canucks. I love how our work places allow for hockey jerseys instead of a suit and tie. I love how our city officials put up big screens to make room for big celebrations.

And I hate what happened during the riot. Shock and dismay and anger quickly filled our hearts. And then we rallied. We came together for the common purpose we have always had – to make Vancouver great. The people you saw cleaning the streets are the same ones who helped host the best Olympics ever. We, the people, are the reason Vancouver is the city it is. Surrounded by spectacular scenery is just the icing on the cake. It is people who plan and host world class events. It is people ~ friendly, honest, healthy people, who smile and work hard and greet visitors to our city.

And it’s those same people that are the example to those who put a shameful stain on our city for a just a brief moment. Participating in the clean up was an emotional experience for me. I welled up a few times as I witnessed my neighbours cleaning and scraping and stooping to pick up the glass and garbage. I can’t explain it, but it was a beautiful response to a very ugly and senseless act.

To those who participated in the riot, either by committing senseless crime or giving an audience to those who did rather than leaving so police could do their jobs, well… you know who you are. And I hope you are taking a hard look first at yourself, then at those who cleaned up your mess.

And to those who helped clean up, to those who are ashamed of the act, to those who love Vancouver as much as I do ~ Thank You. I’m glad you are my neighbour.

Please visit Andy Fang’s facebook page to see amazing pictures of amazing volunteers! Thank you Andy.

Check out ThisIsMyVancouver.com for a place to share what Vancouver means to you!

About Live Explore Enjoy

Lee Anne Michayluk is a Vancouver based writer who loves to live, explore, and enjoy life to the fullest
This entry was posted in Live. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why I Still Love Vancouver

  1. Katrina MacIntosh says:

    For me, I must admit, I have not visited the West Coast in a very long time…. and for the first time in a long time I was re-introduced to Vancouver, which was made possible by two incredibly talented teams. The view of the city streets with throngs of blue and white jerseys is a memory I will not soon forget. Take pride in your city, the good, the bad, and the ugly, because the beauty of it is always there….. the people. The disgraceful few people who briefly held the spotlight, are forgotten and what is left behind are people like you Lee Anne. Proud, decent and dedicated people who stay true to their beliefs and clean up the mess that the ignorant few left behind. I cannot wait until next hockey season my friend, because we will sit together on a cold night in Vancouver and watch your team do what they do best with true faithful fans! xo

    • Love you Kat! And to sit with you anywhere, anytime would be a joy!! It was fun to cheer our teams on together – I hope we do it again next season 🙂 Thank you for your kind words & thoughtfulness.

Leave a Reply

