Feeling Cornered

As you know from a couple of posts ago, I need, want, and strongly desire a small nook of my own to call ‘The Office.’ That stand alone place in my home where I’m a mad, crazy writer rolling out article after blog post after witty tweet, all in a chic and well decorated space.

A friend of ours called up last night. She has a friend in need of a safe, warm & friendly place to stay (she called us anyway!) for six months. It’s been awhile since we’ve hosted international students, and the dynamic of our household is quite different from a few years ago. The need to supplement the mortgage, however, has not changed. So it looks as though my wonderful corner office will now become her wonderful corner bedroom until September.

But I still need a dedicated work space. For those following my tweets you know I just returned from the CGTA gift show in Toronto. While there I furthered my search for stylish storage solutions for the office. The need has now changed to stylish storage solutions that work with the living space of our home.

Here are some of the fun office accessories on display at the show.

I want to purchase storage that is portable, blends into our current living space and will also work in my new office in six months time (the more important consideration). The main living space of our home is casually traditional. We have great floors and original stained glass windows framed by pale yellow walls and high ceilings.

The space itself is great (still a work in progress) and I’ve no problem getting work done when no one is home. The challenge remains in getting the work done once the kids are home from school and the hubby is home from work. Having the essentials well organized will help. Over the next week or so, I’ll be on the hunt for some great accessories. For the next six months, I’ll continue to press forward with my work as a writer and endeavour to remain focused as much as… wow, the dog looks so cute right now and… hey, can you make me one of those too please!

So, what do you think? If you have pictures of office spaces or accessories that inspire you, I’d love to see them and post them on the blog. Maybe you’ve designed a space, perhaps you’ve seen one in your favorite magazine. Leave a comment (they’re always welcome) or shoot me an email and share your inspiration!

About Live Explore Enjoy

Lee Anne Michayluk is a Vancouver based writer who loves to live, explore, and enjoy life to the fullest
This entry was posted in Live. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

